Web & Mobile Apps for pension funds

Design and conception of a holistic solution for the digitization of pension funds. Employers and employees can access PK data and process business cases at any time.

Introduction

Design and conception of a holistic solution for the digitization of pension funds. The solution includes various mobile apps for iPhone, iPad and Android for insured persons as well as a company portal as a web solution for companies.

Responsibilities

- UX & UI design of all apps (iOS, Android, Web)
- Conducting UCD workshops with experts and users
- User testing & user interviews
- Creating HTML and style sheets as a basis for the developers

Project Setup

- Project management: Acrea AG
- Development: MP Technology, Zurich
- Client: DigitalPK & various pension funds

Download from the App Store

Download for Android

Download for iOS

Project facts

Client

DigitalPK - a consortium of innovative pension fund

applications

- iOS App
- Android App
- Company Portal WebApp
- Insured Web App

Project Duration

2017 - 2020

Partner

DigitalPK, Berag AG
ACREA AG Project management
MP Technology development

Procedure

A crucial point was to understand the many requirements and use cases that arise in a pension fund. This was the only way to create a modern, contemporary user experience that a user expects in a modern mobile app. As a designer, I had to deal intensively with the requirements catalogue of a pension fund. This was done through exchange in the form of regular workshops with experts and users who worked on the "front line".

The resulting understanding helped to create first drafts of the mockups, which already represented real processes. These first mockups could thus be presented to potential end users for testing at an early stage.

Interactive mockups and design sprints

With interactive - i.e. clickable - mockups, end users and experts were repeatedly involved during the design process. This ensured that all requirements were already met during the UI design. The mockups were also used to regularly consult with the development team regarding design and implementation. In this way, all project participants are always kept up to date on the latest design status.

In design sprints, individual screens were created in detail and then continually improved and refined. The web app of the company portal received special attention. It had to communicate with various interfaces that delivered different data. A modular and flexible design, which also takes multilingualism into account, was a decisive factor in launching the first version of the portal efficiently and cost-effectively.

No items found.

Over 80 mockups for 5 device types on 3 platforms

All mockups were designed and created directly in Sketch. To ensure that the design was uniform across all platforms, design elements (symbols) were used which could be used repeatedly across platforms. They in turn served the developers to create identical design types and their variations.

Sketch Design Map
Sketch Mockup Map (excerpt)

Atomic Design Approach
Sketch design symbols for the dev team in the Atomic Design approach

Wireframes for complex user flows

For complex requirements - such as a wizard - simple wireframes were created before the design. These were then discussed with experts in the form of workshops and various reviews. Only after the individual steps of the wizard were clear were mockups created.

Design Wireframes

One app, different designs

The multi-client capability of the apps was already taken into account in the design concept. The UX Design GUI contains elements that are colored individually for each client. The mockups were designed in such a way that this could already be simulated in the mockup phase.

iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design

Other projects:

Web & Mobile Apps für Pensionskassen

Design und Konzeption einer ganzheitlichen Lösung für die Digitalisierung von Pensionskassen.

Einleitung

Design und Konzeption einer ganzheitlichen Lösung für die Digitalisierung von Pensionskassen. Die Lösung umfasst diverse Mobile Apps für iPhone, iPad und Android für Versicherte sowie ein Firmenportal als Web Lösung für Unternehmungen.

Verantwortungsbereiche

– UX & UI Design aller Apps (iOS, Android, Web)
– Durchführen von UCD Workshops mit Fachpersonen und Benutzer
– User Testing & User Interviews
– Erstellen von HTML und Style-Sheets als Basis für die Entwickler

Projekt Setup

– Projektleitung: Acrea AG
– Entwicklung: MP Technology, Zürich
– Auftraggeber: DigitalPK & diverse Pensionskassen

Download im App Store

Download for Android

Download for iOS

Project Facts

Auftraggeber

DigitalPK - einem Konsortium von innovativen Pensionskassen

Applikationen

– iOS App
– Android App
– Firmenportal WebApp
– Versicherten Web App

Projektdauer

2017 - 2020

Partner

DigitalPK, Berag AG
ACREA AG Projektleitung
MP Technology Entwicklung

Vorgehensweise

Ein Knackpunkt war, die vielen Anforderungen und Use Cases die bei einer Pensionskasse anfallen zu verstehen. Nur so konnte eine moderne, zeitgemässe User Experience entstehen, die ein Benutzer in einer modernen Mobile App erwartet. Als Designer musste ich mich also intensiv mit dem Anforderungskatalog einer Pensionskasse befassen. Dies geschah durch den Austausch in Form von regelmässigen Workshops mit Fachpersonen und Usern die an der "Front" arbeiteten.

Das dadurch entstandene Verständnis verhalf, erste Entwürfe der Mockups zu erstellen, die bereits reale Prozesse abbildeten. Diese ersten Mockups konnten so bereits in einer frühen Phase möglichen End-Benutzern zum Testen vorgelegt werden.

Interaktive Mockups und Design-Sprints

Mit interaktiven - also  klickbaren - Mockups wurde während dem Design-Prozess immer wieder End-User und Fachpersonen einbezogen. So wurde sichergestellt, dass alle Anforderungen bereits während dem UI Design erfüllt werden. Die Mockups dienten auch dazu, regelmässig mit dem Entwicklungs-Team Rücksprache bezüglich Design und Umsetzung zu halten. So bleiben alle Projektbeteiligten immer auf dem aktuellsten Design-Stand.

In Design-Sprints wurden einzelne Screens im Detail erstellt und anschliessend immer weiter verbessert und verfeinert. Besondere Beachtung fand die Web App des Firmenportals. Sie musste mit diversen Schnittstellen kommunizieren, die unterschiedliche Daten anlieferten. Ein modulares und flexibles Design, welches auch die Mehrsprachigkeit berücksichtigt, war ein entscheidender Faktor, um effizient und kostengünstig die erste Version des Portals lancieren zu können.

No items found.

Über 80 Mockups für 5 Gerätetypen auf 3 Plattformen

Alle Mockups wurden direkt in Sketch gestaltet und erstellt. Damit das Design einheitlich über alle Plattformen war, wurden mit Design-Elementen (Symbole) gearbeitet, welche plattformübergreifend immer wieder verwendet werden konnten. Sie dienten wiederum den Entwicklern,  gleiche Design-Typen und deren Variationen zu erstellen.

Sketch Design Map
Sketch Mockup Map (Auszug)

Atomic Design Approach
Sketch Design Symbols für das Dev-Team im Atomic Design Ansatz

Wireframes für komplexe User-Flows

Für komplexe Anforderungen - wie zum Beispiel ein Wizard - wurden vor dem Design einfache Wireframes erstellt. Diese wurden anschliessend mit Fachpersonen in Form von Workshops und verschiedenen Reviews besprochen. Erst nachdem die einzelnen Steps des Wizards klar waren, wurden Mockups erstellt.

Design Wireframes

Eine App, verschiedene Designs

Die Mandantenfähigkeit der Apps wurde bereits im Design-Konzepts berücksichtigt. So enthält das UX Design GUI Elemente, welche individuell pro Mandant eingefärbt werden. Die Mockups wurden so aufgebaut, das dies bereits in der Mockup-Phase simuliert werden konnte.

iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design
iPhone App Design

Other projects: