Employee communication in public transport

Interaction and usability design of the iPad app for digital employee communication in public transport on behalf of InnoTix AG

Introduction

Digitisation is also making great strides forward in public transport. Interface and user experience design of an iPad app for digital employee communication in public transport on behalf of InnoTix - the provider of digital solutions in public transport.

Responsibilities

- User Interface and User Experience Design of the iPad iOS App
- User Centered Design (UCD) Workshops together with public transport
experts 
- Development of user flow concepts
- Support for the developer team in UI and UX questions

Product

- Website about the public transport pad

- Demo App for iOS

Project facts

Client

InnoTix AG - Digitalisation in public transport

Website about the public transport pad

Applications

- iPad app

Project duration

Since 2014 - today
Part of it as an employee of InnoTix AG

App Users

Over 10500 app users per day

UI and UX design in public transport

The public transport pad is the interface for communication with transport service employees - regardless of where they are located. More than 10,000 employees use this work tool every day. The information must be immediately accessible and comprehensible. A well thought-out usability and an intuitive interface design is essential.

In an iterative design process, individual modules and components were conceived and designed for the existing requirements. Over the years more and more interfaces and functionalities were added. In the meantime, the iPad App has become the central solution for the transport service and for many public transport companies it is no longer possible to imagine the everyday life without it.

iOS Native Design

It was a fundamental decision to stay as close as possible to Apple's Human Interface Design Guideline. Not only did the driver's assistant immediately feel at home with the app, but it was also ensured that the user interface could be implemented efficiently over many years and new iOS versions.

Continuous development of the App

The app has grown rapidly since its launch in 2014 and has provided many public transport companies in Switzerland, Germany and Italy with valuable services in the digital transformation and securing of communication with transport service employees. In the meantime, the app comprises more than 15 modules. Further modules are already being planned.

No items found.

iPad App with modular structure

An interface design was created for the following modules and wizards:

- News

- e-learning

- Documents

- Messaging

- Video and picture gallery

- My service

- Electronic logbook

- Accident Wizard

Other projects:

Mitarbeiter-Kommunikation im ÖPNV

Interaction und Usability Design der iPad App für digitale Mitarbeiter-Kommunikation des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs (ÖPNV) im Auftrag der InnoTix AG

Einleitung

Auch im ÖPNV schreitet die Digitalisierung mit grossen Schritten vorwärts. Interface und User Experience Design einer iPad App für digitale Mitarbeiter-Kommunikation im ÖPNV im Auftrag der InnoTix - dem Anbieter von digitalen Lösungen im öffentlichen Verkehr.

Verantwortungsbereiche

– User Interface und User Experience Design der iPad iOS App
– User Centered Design (UCD) Workshops mit Fachpersonen des öffentlichen Verkehrs
– Erarbeiten von Benutzer-Konzepten
– Unterstützung Entwickler-Team bei UI und UX Fragen

Produkt

– Webseite zum öV-Pad

Demo App für iOS

Project Facts

Auftraggeber

InnoTix AG - Digitalisierung im öffentlichen Verkehr

Webseite zum öV-Pad

Applikationen

– iPad App

Projektdauer

Seit 2014 - heute
Ein Teil davon als Angestellter der InnoTix AG

App Benutzer

Über 10500 App-Benutzer pro Tag

UI und UX Design im ÖPNV

Das öV-Pad ist die Schnittstelle zur Kommunikation mit Fahrdienstmitarbeitenden - unabhängig davon, wo sich diese gerade befinden. Über 10'000 Mitarbeiter nutzen tagtäglich dieses Arbeitsinstrument. Die Informationen müssen sofort zugänglich und verständlich dargestellt werden. Eine durchdachte Usability und ein intuitives Interface Design ist unerlässlich.

In einem iterativen Design Prozess wurden einzelne Module und Komponenten jeweils für die bestehenden Anforderungen konzipiert und gestaltet. Mit den Jahren kamen immer mehr Schnittstellen und Funktionalitäten hinzu. Inzwischen ist die iPad App die zentrale Lösung für den Fahrdienst geworden und für viele ÖV Betriebe aus dem Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenken.

iOS Nativ-Design

Es war ein Grundsatzentscheid, möglichst nah an der Human Interface Design Guideline von Apple zu bleiben. So fühlte sich nicht nur der Fahrdienstmitarbeiter sofort in der App zuhause, sondern es wurde auch sichergestellt, dass sich das User Interface über viele Jahre und neue iOS Versionen hinweg effizient implementieren lässt.

Stetige Weiterentwicklung der App

Die App seit dem Start im 2014 stark gewachsen und hat viele öV-Betriebe in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Italien bei der digitalen Transformation und Sicherstellung bei der Kommunikation mit Fahrdienstmitarbeitern wertvolle Dienste geleistet. In Zwischen umfasst die App mehr als 15 Module. Weitere sind bereits in Planung.

No items found.

iPad App mit modularem Aufbau

Für folgende Module und Wizards wurden ein Interface Design erstellt:

– News

– E-Learning

– Dokumente

– Messaging

– Video und Bild-Galerie

– Mein Dienst

– Elektronisches Wagenbuch

– Unfall Wizard

Other projects: