Digital encyclopedia for whales and dolphins

User experience and interface design of an interactive, digital encyclopedia app for the well-known whale and dolphin expert Ralf Kiefner

A digital encyclopedia

Discover the fascinating world of whales and dolphins with this comprehensive and detailed app for iOS and Android. An innovative user experience guides through the various information and helps with a specially designed finder that specifically identifies the different species of whales and dolphins.

Services

- Concept and user experience for iOS App

- Timeless interface design

- Design of illustrations, icons and graphics

Download Apps

The apps are available in the Google Playstore (Android) and the Apple App Store (iOS)

- Download Google Playstore

- Download App Store (iOS): iPhone App | iPad App

Project facts

Customer

- Ralf Kiefner, Ocean Pix

Available platforms

- iOS App for iPad and iPhone
- Android App (Portrait)

Partner ‍Partner

Xtendum GmbH (Implementation)

Innovative user experience concept

Through the native implementation for iPhone and iPad as well as for Android and the development of special control elements a maximum user experience and usability was achieved.

The directly integrated, interactive finder allows a quick identification of the animals based on specific characteristics. For example by size, colour or distribution areas on a modern, interactive map.

Ralf Kiefner is a well-known whale and dolphin expert, whose book "Whales and Dolphins, Worldwide" has been translated into 5 languages and is generally considered a "must have" by whale watchers. The photos and video clips used in the app have been collected over the course of more than 20 years. The comprehensive library is constantly being expanded.

Development first for iOS

The entire usability concept was first developed and implemented completely for iOS. Afterwards the concept was ported to Android. By concentrating on one operating system at the beginning, costs were saved, especially in bugfixing and the continuous improvement of the UX concept.

No items found.

Over 68 species of whales and dolphins

The app describes 68 species of whales and dolphins in an entertaining way and contains as much information as a good book, but offers much more. For each species there is a Quick-ID, complete description, information about behaviour, diving behaviour, food, reproduction, possible hot spots, interesting facts, popular names, key figures, information about taxonomy, scientific name and distribution areas, including GPS connection.

Innovative App Features

The best features of the iPhone and iPad app:

- Lexicon with over 68 whale and dolphin species

- InApp purchase of additional images and videos

- Interactive maps with GPS connection

- Glossary & Patterns

- Interactive finder (whales and dolphins can be identified according to certain characteristics)

- Picture gallery with over 200 spectacular photos and videos

Whaleguide App - simply explained

Short, concise explanation video using the tablet app (in German).

Other projects:

Digitales Lexikon für Wale und Delfine

User Experience und Interface Design einer interaktiven, digitalen Lexikon App für den bekannten Wal- und Delfin-Experte Ralf Kiefner

Ein digitales Lexikon

Entdecke die faszinierende Welt der Wale und Delfine mit dieser umfassenden und ausführlichen App für iOS und Android. Eine innovative User Experience führt durch die verschiedenen Informationen und hilft mit einem speziell entwickelten Finder, dass gezielte erkennen der verschiedenen Wale und Delfine Arten.

Leistungen

– Konzeption und User Experience für iOS App

– Zeitloses Interface Design

– Gestalten von Illustrationen, Icons und Grafiken

Download Apps

Die Apps sind im Google Playstore (Android) und im Apple App Store (iOS) erhältlich

– Download Google Playstore

– Download App Store (iOS): iPhone App | iPad App

Project Facts

Kunde

– Ralf Kiefner, Ocean Pix

Verfügbare Plattformen

– iOS App für iPad und iPhone
– Android App (Portrierung)

Partner

Xtendum GmbH (Umsetzung)

Innovatives User Experience Konzept

Durch die native Umsetzung für iPhone und iPad sowie für Android und der Entwicklung von speziellen Bedienungselementen wurde eine maximale User-Experience und Usability erzielt.

Der direkt integrierte, interaktive Finder ermöglicht ein schnelles identifizieren der Tiere auf Grund von spezifischen Merkmalen. Zum Beispiel an Hand der Grösse, der Farbe oder der Verbreitungsgebiete auf einer modernen, interaktiven Karte.

Ralf Kiefner ist ein bekannter Wale- und Delfine-Experte, dessen Buch "Wale und Delphine, weltweit" in 5 Sprachen übersetzt wurde und allgemein als "must have" der Walbeobachter gilt. Die in der App verwendeten Fotos und Video-Clips wurden im Laufe von über 20 Jahren zusammengetragen. Die umfassende Bibliothek wird laufend Erweitert.

Entwicklung zuerst für iOS

Das gesamte Usability Konzept wurde zuerst vollständig für iOS entwickelt um umgesetzt. Anschliessend wurde das Konzept auf Android portriert. Durch die Konzentration auf ein Betriebsystem zu beginn wurden Kosten insbesondere beim Bugfixing und der fortlaufenden Verbesserung des UX Konzeptes gespart.

No items found.

Über 68 Wale und Delfine-Arten

Die App beschreibt 68 Wale- und Delfine-Arten auf unterhaltsame Weise und enthält so viele Informationen wie ein gutes Buch, bietet jedoch deutlich mehr. Für jede Art gibt es eine Quick-ID, komplette Beschreibung, Informationen über Verhalten, Tauchverhalten, Nahrung, Reproduktion, mögliche Hot Spots, Wissenswertes, Populärnamen, Kennzahlen, Informationen über die Taxonomie, den wissenschaftlichen Namen und der Verbreitungsgebiete, inklusive GPS Anbindung.

Innovative App Features

Die besten Features der iPhone und iPad App:

– Lexikon mit über 68 Wal- und Delfin-Arten

– InApp-Kauf von zusätzlichen Bildern und Videos

– Interaktive Karten mit GPS Anbindung

– Glossar & Verhaltensmuster

– Interaktiver Finder (Wale und Delfine können nach bestimmten Merkmalen identifiziert werden)

– Bilder-Gallery mit über 200 spektakulären Fotos und Videos

Whaleguide App - einfach erklärt

Kurzes, prägnates Erkärungsvideo anhand der Tablet-App (auf Deutsch).

Other projects: